This website uses cookies to help us give you the best browsing experience. By continuing to use this portal, you agree to our use of this tool.
To learn more about how we use cookies and how to manage them please read our notice here.
Candidates to the EGS Fellowship

Candidates eligible for the EGS national glaucoma fellowship are medical doctors actively working in one of the UEMS (and associate) countries who have successfully graduated from a four years residency in ophthalmology and are bona fide specialists in ophthalmology in their country of work. Passing the EBOD specialist exam is not mandatory but will be a strongly recommended prerequisite. Details on the eligibility are listed on the EGS website. Candidates will elect whether to pursue the one-year EGS European Glaucoma Fellowship as a) medical b) medical and surgical c) clinical research.

Requirements for candidates to be eligible for EGS fellowship

  • A completed Ophthalmology residency program (minimum 4 years)
  • A recognised diploma and title of specialist in Ophthalmology in their own country (UEMS member countries)
  • Eligibility to register with the national medical board of the host institution
  • Fluent in the national language as well as in English
  • For candidates applying to the “clinical fellowship” a minimum of 100 cataract surgeries performed prior to application is required
  • An updated CV
  • Letter of motivation
  • Two letters of reference (at least one from current working institution)
  • For the “Clinical fellowship with medical and surgical training”: logbook with numbers and types of surgeries performed prior to the fellowship

  • EBO (European Board of Ophthalmology) or ICO (International Council of Ophthalmology) diploma
  • Previous experience(s) focused on clinical glaucoma or research
  • An observership (see EGS definition EGS website) in the field of glaucoma in another institution than the usual working place

Candidates who have completed the EGS Fellowship program are expected to sit the EGS FEBOS exam within the 2 years following the fellowship.

back to top